Monsters by Emerald Fennell

Sometimes murder is child’s play…. I read this in one sitting last night and my skin is still crawling – my mind feels slightly disconnected, altered somehow. Don’t let the Blyton-esque cover fool you. This is a dark, deeply disturbing portrait of childhood gone wrong, in the vein of The Wasp Factory and We NeedContinue reading “Monsters by Emerald Fennell”

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Last year it seemed like everyone was reading Gone Girl, and I just never caught on. So I thought I’d try Sharp Objects, Flynn’s first novel, before catching up with the rest of the universe. It’s a disturbing read, both in subject matter and in the resonance to relationships many of us have experienced inContinue reading “Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn”